Essence Eyebrow Designer pencils in Blonde and Brown review

essence eyebrow designer

Hello dears, welcome! How was your weekend, did you all have a spooky Halloween? I think the most terrifying thing on someone’s face must be badly filled of shaped eyebrows, so today I’m reviewing two eyebrow pencils by Essence: the Essence Eyebrow Designer pencil in the colour 04 Blonde and the Essence Eyebrow Designer in the colour 02 Brown.

I am a dark haired girl, so I normally get my eyebrow pencil of whatever brand in brown or some kind of light brunette shade, but while I was shopping for Essence stuff I figured that I should try out the blonde too, since they are very affordable and I needed a light brow shade for the days that I don’t wear makeup on my eyes.

essence eyebrow designer

essence eyebrow designer

essence eyebrow designer

The Eyebrow Designer pencils come with a tiny brow brush on the cap, which is very useful and makes them perfect to throw in your makeup bag. You can definitely do your eyebrows with just the pencil and the brush part, but I also like to use and angled eyeshadow brush to complete my look.

The texture of these Essence eyebrow pencils is quite thick and not very creamy, but that gives you the advantage of easily building up your desired intensity on your brows. If they very very creamy, it would be hard to put just a small amount and they would smudge fast. Because of their consistency, these will last all day on your brows for sure.

The pigmentation and intensity of the colours on the Eyebrow Designer is great, but if you have dark eyebrow hairs, it will be harder to cover them up with the Blonde shade.

essence blonde brow pencil

essence blonde brow pencil

essence blonde brow pencil

The Essence Eyebrow Designer in 04 Blonde is a lovely light brown shade (ironic, huh?!) that I’ve been using every day. I find it works perfectly with my dark hair and it’s great for those days when you don’t want to wear makeup. But why would you want to fill your brows if you already decided you aren’t wearing makeup? Well, my brows barely have 3 hairs in the outer half and I look terrifying without any brow pencil. And even though I have only a few hairs in them, the ones that are still there are as black as my lashes, which makes it hard to get a pretty look without using two shades of pencil.

The 04 Blonde is dark enough for a soft brunette look, but for a more natural look, I usually go in with the brown shade in the outer half to create a more textured, even look.

essence eyebrow designer blonde swatches

The second Essence brow pencil that I’ve been using is this Eyebrow Designer in 02 Brown.

essence eyebrow designer brown

essence eyebrow designer brown

essence eyebrow designer brown

This pencil has a very dark, rich brown shade that is absolutely beautiful and that covers black hairs easily. It’s a great brow shade for deep dark haired girls, I think it would work best on levels of 1 and 2 such as black, jet black and darkest brown.

I’m somewhere at level 3 as far as darkness goes, so I mainly use this brown to create texture in my brows and to complete the missing hairs in the outer half. I wouldn’t be using this on  my whole brow, as I find it too intense for my hair colour and skin tone, but I do recommend it for everyone, as you can use it to accentuate whichever part of your brows you want.

essence eyebrow designer brown swatches

I know some ladies love wearing dark brows with light hair, and that is totally up to you, this is just how I like to wear mine ^_^ .

All in all, the Essence Eyebrow Designer pencils are a must, they are inexpensive and work wonderfully, and the colours are lovely!

I know I love a soft brow look, but how do you like yours? What shade of brow pencil do you use, is it darker than your hair colour?

Take care beauties, see you soon! Xx

34 responses to “Essence Eyebrow Designer pencils in Blonde and Brown review

  1. I wish you lived closer to me so that you can do my brows!! I have jet black hair so I bought a light brown shade for my eyebrow pencil. Even though I practiced, used the brush on the end, I feel like I still didn’t get it right. So, I stopped filling in my brows. =( I LOVE the look of filled in brows, though! I might have to go to a makeup counter next time I try it out!!

    Like

  2. I use the Soap and Glory Archery pen, it’s a shade lighter than the actual colour of my eyebrows, but because they’re quite large but sparse if I filled them in with anything darker I’d look like Frida Kahlo’s love child. Love this review and thanks for following!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. These are what I always use to fill in my brows! Obsessed!!! By the way, I started a new blog with one of my college friends. Miss you ❤

    -Tori of Notorious Beauty Blog

    Like

Leave a comment